Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
WATERBABY HOMEPAGE
Archives
25 septembre 2007

“The darkest thing about Africa has always been our ignorance of it.”

DSC_0223

Sitting quietly in a haze of suitcases opened , dark wodden bowl, necklaces, carvings on the floor and slowly realising I am back...3 days in Europe and Africa is still on my mind. I was in Cameroun for 6 weeks, in Douala. The entire trip was business and the outcome is positive but in the process I have had to experience another dimension of life, ponder and think about why we are here, what are my values, how can I fit in this world, how will I live the rest of my life. Deep questions, simple questions and also take responsibilites I did not want. I got told I would have to go back, only if I want to of course I have a choice.

 

The african family is elastic. You are part of a tribe, your family, values are set, you take care of your kid's brother or cousin if one of them die, it is the unwritten law, an unwritten truth that you live by, in return you get an unconditional support, an unconditionnal love, a recognition. You are not valued through your work but through your social relations and expressing yourself is essential, if you lie, twist the truth in the process well as long as it fits your own agenda why not. People don't think long turn, they can't, they don't have enough money to do that so they size the day, carpe diem is fully understood there, they also laugh more then us, they share stories, discuss all aspects of their lives in a merry and simple atmosphear, men and women alike. it makes our world seem baren and cold in comparison, living in our little bublles protected from others at all time, building a fortress of cards made of money, fear. Having less means often having more. I can't truly put it into words. I can only look back and in retrospect take into my life what I have seen of value, try to integrate it into an everyday full of emptyness too often, where you drown yourself in useless activities to forget why you are, who you could be if you gave yousrself a choice.

DSC_0210

Publicité
Commentaires
WATERBABY HOMEPAGE
Publicité
Publicité